The mission of Hope Center for Children (HCFC) is to build stable, healthy families and to provide children a safe place from abuse and neglect. HCFC is the result of a 2013 merger between two organizations with histories of providing residential care for children in foster care, The Ellen Hines Smith Girls’ Home and the Children’s Shelter of the Upstate. These two strong organizations merged to form Hope Center for Children, resulting in a pooling of resources to provide a wider continuum of services for children and families in Spartanburg and the surrounding areas. This name captures the heart of each program: providing hope to children and families. Since the merger, HCFC has continued to expand services, and today six cohesive programs fulfill the mission. All six programs use evidence-based and/or evidence-informed models, yielding outstanding annual outcomes.  

Our Staff

Vernon Hayes

Chief Executive Officer

(864) 583-7688 x138
vernon@hopecfc.org

Susan Burgess

Chief Financial Officer

(864) 583-7688 x125
sburgess@hopecfc.org

Michael Brown

Facilities and Safety Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x124
michael@hopecfc.org

Maddi Currier

Development Associate

(864) 583-7688 x134
mcurrier@hopecfc.org

Brandi Hamrick

Communications Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x127
brandi@hopecfc.org

Melissa Keith

Anchor House Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x148
melissa@hopecfc.org

Jessica Lollis

TFM Systems Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x155
jlollis@hopecfc.org

Alisha Morrow

Office Manager

(864) 583-7688 x136
amorrow@hopecfc.org

Molly Moyer

Director of Development

(864) 583-7688 x137
mmoyer@hopecfc.org

Angela Talley Robinson

Positive Parenting Program Initiative Director

(864) 583-7688 x151
arobinson@hopecfc.org

Dallys Sims

Positive Parenting Program Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x122
dallys@hopecfc.org

Danny Smith

Residential Programs & Clinical Services Manager

(864) 583-7688 x109
dsmith@hopecfc.org

Ushela Smith

PQI Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x103
usmith@hopecfc.org

Taylor Thompson

Faucette House Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x121
tthompson@hopecfc.org

Latrice Thompson-Chapman

Transitional Living Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x154
latrice@hopecfc.org

Kay Tribble

DSS Liaison

(864) 583-7688 x146
ktribble@hopecfc.org

India Underwood

HR Generalist

(864) 583-7688 x142
india@hopecfc.org

Penny Wright

Community Engagement Manager

(864) 583-7688 x132
pwright@hopecfc.org

Board of Directors

  • Corie Culp, Chair
  • Noel Helms, Vice Chair
  • Dennis Locke, Secretary
  • Clancy Self, Treasurer
  • Taylor Smith, Governance Chair
  • Vintress Brown
  • Daniel Ebin
  • Vicki Force
  • Julie Garritson
  • Alan Jenkins
  • Shawn Masto
  • Maggie Nowell
  • Klay Peterson
  • Elizabeth Poirier
  • Melissa Walker
  • Camille Wolfe
  • Rhonda Mingo

Non-Board Committee Members:

  • Cheryl Lang

Help Us Protect Children and Support Families