The mission of Hope Center for Children (HCFC) is to build stable, healthy families and to provide children a safe place from abuse and neglect. HCFC is the result of a 2013 merger between two organizations with histories of providing residential care for children in foster care, The Ellen Hines Smith Girls’ Home and the Children’s Shelter of the Upstate. These two strong organizations merged to form Hope Center for Children, resulting in a pooling of resources to provide a wider continuum of services for children and families in Spartanburg and the surrounding areas. This name captures the heart of each program: providing hope to children and families. Since the merger, HCFC has continued to expand services, and today six cohesive programs fulfill the mission. All six programs use evidence-based and/or evidence-informed models, yielding outstanding annual outcomes.  

Our Staff

Vernon Hayes

Chief Executive Officer

(864) 583-7688 x138
vernon@hopecfc.org

Susan Burgess

Chief Financial Officer

(864) 583-7688 x125
sburgess@hopecfc.org

Constance Keener

Director of Programs

(864) 583-7688 x145
ckeener@hopecfc.org

Riley Brown

Faucette House Care Coordinator
(864) 583-7688 x121
rbrown@hopecfc.org

Michaela Cox

Director of Clinical Support Services
(864) 542-5978
mhorvath@hopecfc.org

Beth Ecxford

Facilities and Safety Supervisor
(864) 583-7688 x124
becxford@hopecfc.org

Madison Grice

Faucette House Child Advocate
(864) 542-6092
mgrice@hopecfc.org

Brandi Hamrick

Communications Coordinator
(864) 583-7688 x127
brandi@hopecfc.org

Melissa Keith

Anchor House Supervisor
(864) 590-0025
melissa@hopecfc.org

Jessica Lollis

Director of Training
(864) 583-7688 x155
jlollis@hopecfc.org

Amy Norville

Human Resources Manager
(864) 583-7688 x136
anorville@hopecfc.org

Angela Talley Robinson

Healthy Families Initiative Director
(864) 583-7688 x151
arobinson@hopecfc.org

Phyliss Skuba

Volunteer Coordinator & Event Planner
(864) 583-7688 x102
pskuba@hopecfc.org

Dallys Sims

Positive Parenting Program Supervisor
(864) 583-7688 x122
dallys@hopecfc.org

Ushela Smith

PQI Coordinator
(864) 583-7688 x103
usmith@hopecfc.org

Latrice Thompson-Chapman

Transitional Living Program Supervisor
(864) 814-9432
latrice@hopecfc.org

Michelle Ledbetter

Residential Liaison
(864) 583-7688 x146
mledbetter@hopecfc.org

Kathleen Turner

FRCPS Case Coordinator
(864) 583-7688 x154
kturner@hopecfc.org

Board of Directors

  • Alan Jenkins, Chair
  • Wendy Griffith, Vice Chair
  • Julie Garritson, Secretary
  • Daniel Ebin, Treasurer
  • Jody Babb
  • Clarence Batts
  • Laura Boles
  • Vintress Brown
  • Corey Carson
  • Nan Dempsey
  • Noel Helms
  • Lichelle Jones-Wilkins
  • Elizabeth McCown
  • Angela Myers
  • Amit Patel
  • Elizabeth Poirier
  • Taylor Smith

Help Us Protect Children and Support Families