The mission of Hope Center for Children (HCFC) is to build stable, healthy families and to provide children a safe place from abuse and neglect. HCFC is the result of a 2013 merger between two organizations with histories of providing residential care for children in foster care, The Ellen Hines Smith Girls’ Home and the Children’s Shelter of the Upstate. These two strong organizations merged to form Hope Center for Children, resulting in a pooling of resources to provide a wider continuum of services for children and families in Spartanburg and the surrounding areas. This name captures the heart of each program: providing hope to children and families. Since the merger, HCFC has continued to expand services, and today six cohesive programs fulfill the mission. All six programs use evidence-based and/or evidence-informed models, yielding outstanding annual outcomes.  

Our Staff

Vernon Hayes

Chief Executive Officer

(864) 583-7688 x138
vernon@hopecfc.org

Kiera Breland

Anchor House Supervisor

(864) 542-6197
kbreland@hopecfc.org

Susan Burgess

Chief Financial Officer

(864) 583-7688 x125
sburgess@hopecfc.org

Michael Brown

Facilities and Safety Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x124
michael@hopecfc.org

Michaela Cox

Director of Clinical Support Services

(864) 542-5978
mhorvath@hopecfc.org

Maddi Currier

Director of Development

(864) 583-7688 x134
mcurrier@hopecfc.org

Madison Grice

Faucette House Child Advocate

(864) 542-6092
mgrice@hopecfc.org

Brandi Hamrick

Communications Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x127
brandi@hopecfc.org

Melissa Keith

Residential Programs Manager

(864) 590-0025
melissa@hopecfc.org

Jessica Lollis

TFM Systems Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x155
jlollis@hopecfc.org

Alisha Morrow

Office Manager

(864) 583-7688 x136
amorrow@hopecfc.org

Amy Norville

Human Resources Manager

(864) 583-7688 x136
anorville@hopecfc.org

Angela Talley Robinson

Healthy Families Initiative Director

(864) 583-7688 x151
arobinson@hopecfc.org

Dallys Sims

Positive Parenting Program Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x122
dallys@hopecfc.org

Leann Smith

Development Associate

(864) 583-7688 x132
lsmith@hopecfc.org

Ushela Smith

PQI Coordinator

(864) 583-7688 x103
usmith@hopecfc.org

Emma Swearingen

Faucette House Child Advocate

(864) 237-2231
eswearingen@hopecfc.org

Taylor Thompson

Faucette House Supervisor

(864) 978-2457
tthompson@hopecfc.org

Latrice Thompson-Chapman

Transitional Living Supervisor

(864) 583-7688 x154
latrice@hopecfc.org

Kay Tribble

DSS Liaison

(864) 583-7688 x146
ktribble@hopecfc.org

Name

Name

Name

Name

Name

Name

Name

Name

Board of Directors

  • Noel Helms, Chair
  • Alan Jenkins, Vice Chair
  • Julie Garritson, Secretary
  • Daniel Ebin, Treasurer
  • Corie Culp, Governance Chair
  • Jody Babb
  • Laura Boles
  • Vintress Brown
  • Keisha Jackson Gilliam
  • Wendy Griffith
  • Dennis Locke
  • Rhonda Mingo
  • Elizabeth Poirier
  • Dargan Rain
  • Mary Kathryn Snead

Help Us Protect Children and Support Families